Awarding young STEM Ph.D. to contribute to societal progress

On an annual basis, the Solvay Group presents “Solvay Awards” to Ph.D. graduates who have successfully defended their theses the previous year at the Faculty of Sciences or Engineering School of the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) or the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB).

Our aim in awarding this prize is to encourage young people to train and undertake research in the fields of science and technology, where research is essential for the development of current and future industrial activities. Solvay’s intent is to stimulate the inventiveness of talented Ph.D. graduates and encourage them to think of ways their work can contribute to societal progress.


Solvay Awards 2021 session

On October 16, 2022 in Brussels, the ceremony celebrates the PhD laureates of the 2021 session. PhD work submitted for evaluation can be of a basic or applied nature but must have focused, from a physical or chemical perspective, on one of the following themes:

  • the investigation and understanding of matter (structure, properties, transformation, chemical reactivity, material science),
  • the study of the mechanisms and chemistry of life,
  • new production technologies,
  • new resources, energy storage and generation,
  • environmental sciences and sustainable development


Solvay-Awards-2021 (6)


Congratulations to the 6 laureates of the Solvay Awards 2021 session:

  • Ludovico Zanus for his doctoral thesis: Development of new synthetic processes based on the cationic chemistry of ynamides
  • Pierre Thilmany for his doctoral thesis: Development of new synthetic processes based on the cationic chemistry of ynamides
  • Maria Teresa Scelzo for her doctoral thesis: Experimental and numerical investigation of slurry flows in pipelines: a contribution towards slush propellants for future rockets’ engines
  • Dieter De Baere for his doctoral thesis: Exploration of laser metal deposition for monitoring solutions and development of a strategy for key challenges
  • Giuseppe D'Alessio for his doctoral thesis: Data-driven models for reacting flows simulations: reduced-order modelling, chemistry acceleration and analysis of high-fidelity data
  • Diederik Coppitters for his doctoral thesis: Robust Design Optimization of Hybrid Renewable Energy Systems