Investing in the success of young chemists

Solvay has a proud tradition of championing initiatives that combine scientific and educational endeavors to reinvent progress.

Since 2014, we have participated in the high-profile and highly-respected annual prize program organized by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry 
(IUPAC). Awarded annually during the IUPAC World Chemistry Congress, the International IUPAC-Solvay Award for Young Chemists recognizes the best international doctoral theses in chemistry. Solvay’s presence on the jury ensures the integrity of the award, as well as full alignment with Solvay's values, including ethics and sustainability.

Winners of the 2022 IUPAC-Solvay International Award for Young Chemists

The five winners of the 2022 IUPAC-Solvay International Award for Young Chemists are:

  • Alexander John Cruz (Belgium), Ph.D., KU Leuven, Belgium -  “Metal-organic frameworks by vapor deposition processes”
  • Yuyang Dong (China/Beijing, USA), Ph.D., Harvard University, USA - “C–H Functionalization Catalysis Mediated by First-Row Transition Metal-Stabilized Ligand-Based Radicals”
  • Stefano Ippolito (France), Ph.D., University of Strasbourg, France - “Defect engineering in 2D semiconductors: fabrication of hybrid multifunctional devices”
  • Li Jianbin (China/Beijing, Canada), Ph.D., McGill University, Canada - “Development of novel C-H and C-O functionalization tools in the absence of noble metal”
  • Juliane R. Sempionatto (USA), Ph.D., University of California San Diego, USA - “Wearable Electrochemical Sensors for Non-Invasive Health Monitoring”

The award recognizes the best Ph.D. theses in the chemical sciences, submitted in the form of a 1000-word essay. The winners each receive a $1,000 cash prize and travel expenses for the 49th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress, taking place on August 20-25, 2023, in The Hague, The Netherlands. The awards will be presented to the winners of the 2022 and 2023 competitions during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress.

In 2022 there were 44 applications from individuals receiving their Ph.D. degrees from institutions in 15 countries. The award selection committee, chaired by Professor Christopher Brett, IUPAC Past President, comprised members of the IUPAC Bureau and a senior science advisor from Solvay, all of whom have a wide range of experience in chemistry. In view of the many high-quality applications, the Committee also decided to award three Honorable Mentions:

  • Xiang Shi (China/Beijing), Ph.D., Fudan University, China
  • Anirban Mondal (Netherlands), Ph.D., University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Soraya Learte Aymamí (Spain), Ph.D., Universidad de Santiago de Compostela, Spain

"Not only is Solvay a member of IUPAC, but we have a long, solid history of collaboration. Ernest Solvay participated in the creation of IUPAC in 1913. Our involvement in this award helps to ensure the international visibility of the Group among the world’s best-ranked universities, in addition to reinforcing our high profile within the scientific community."

Paul Baekelmans, Advisor to Solvay’s Corporate Secretariat.